Search form

Community Advisory Council

WETA appreciates the advice and support of the WETA Community Advisory Council.

The council is made up of the following individuals who serve as voices of the community to WETA regarding programming, outreach services and public activities.

The Community Advisory Council meets next on Friday, May 24, 2019 from 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. at WETA's administrative offices and is open to interested members of the community. Please contact us for more information.


Council members

Laurie Albert

Jewish Community Center of Northern Virginia

Jeanie Collins Carr

Black Student Fund

Stephanie Cheng

Chinatown Community Cultural Center

Leslie Copeland-Tune

DC Baptist Convention

Mario Garcia Durham

The Association of Performing Arts Presenters

Leonard L. Hamlin, Sr. (Vice Chair)

Macedonia Baptist Church

Ruby Lopez Harper

Americans for the Arts

Winston McDonald Haythe

Colonel, U.S. Army (Retired)
George Washington University Law School

Melissa Houghton

Women in Film and Video of Washngton, D.C.

Margaret Hutto

Art Care Consultants

Suzan Jenkins

Arts and Humanities Council of Montgomery County

Avis Jones-DeWeever

National Council of Negro Women

Lance Shapiro

Georgetown University Alumnus

Loren Allan Smith (chairman)

U.S. Court of Federal Claims

Alfred O. Taylor, Jr.

Nauck Civic Association

Katherine Wood

Public Diplomacy Council

Vivian Yao (Vice Chair)

Montgomery County Council

Wuiping Yap

Asia Heritage Foundation

Connect with WETA

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest